Ingrid Nilsen

I don’t subscribe to beauty gurus on YouTube. I follow awkward older sisters (Grace Helbig), gay men (Tyler Oakley), and talk show hosts (Jimmy Fallon).

But today I stumbled upon Ingrid Nilsen.
 

I don’t think this could have come at a more coincidental time. I applaud her for being able to do this so publicly.

This video broke me. I didn’t shed a single tear, but it was shattering me from the inside – seeing her so helplessly vulnerable – but it being something she has to do… alone. I watched all 20 minutes of it, unable to break away, waiting for that happy ending.

It was comforting to know she was coming out at 26 years old. It took away from the urgency that was nagging at the back of my head. “Do it when you’re ready” is the message I got from this. And she was ready.

I really want to hug her, and hug her tight. 😦

Thank you Ingrid Nilsen for shedding more visibility on the LGBT community. I hope one day I can be as brave as you.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

