Type Five Personality

At the behest of several gays, namely F and J, I’ve been doing plenty of personality quizzes.

According to the Nine Types quiz, I’m a Type 5. Here are some highlights:

Dominant Traits

  • Analytical
  • Thoughtful
  • Detached
  • Seeks Privacy
  • Self-Sufficient

Focus of Attention

  • Gaining Knowledge and Wisdom
  • Protects Themselves from a World That Asks Too Much 

Basic Fear: Being Incompetent and Helpless 

The Investigator or Fives, are thinkers who prefer to withdraw in their own world and simply observe, rather than take part in human drama. They are usually well-read, intelligent, thoughtful, and become experts at their area of interest. This is due to Five’s desire to master whatever they spend time on, which stems from their fear of not having enough internal resources to cope with the world. 

What they fear they lack are the inner resources necessary, such as time and energy, to cope with life. They tend to hoard these resources, and protect them fiercely. This is the reason for their detachment. They don’t want to be imposed upon. In order to protect themselves from an intrusive world, and from insufficient resources, Fives take refuge inside their minds. They detach from feelings and rejects claims to their time, energy and emotions. They reduce their needs and focus on pursuing self-sufficiency. 

This personality does not like putting themselves in a position of vulnerability. They are non-intrusive and very independent. 

Advice for Challenges Fives deal with:

  • Try to get in touch with your emotions, and let others in once in a while.

 

One of the most disappointing things about having caught feels for the Asian girl is the time and energy I feel that I’ve wasted in investing them in her. I’ve told her so much about myself with minimal ROI, and it just feels like I could’ve spent that time and those stories on someone else. This description of a Type Five holding tightly onto such resources rings so true, particularly in this scenario, for me. 

I’m independent af, this is true. It’s interesting that whenever I go to someone for emotional/girl-related problems, one of the first things they tell me is that I’m overthinking things… Yet there was no mention of “overthinking” as a weakness. It’s the literal bane of me.

I was catching up with an old friend from badminton today and told her about my dynamic with F and J (/and associated feelings) and she told me that as much as I’m assessing the situation, I’m putting far too much weight on things that don’t matter – e.g. wanting to address whether one has feelings for another and if that even matters. It’s irrelevant.

So I drafted an email to myself for a New Year’s Resolution – Stop overthinking. If this year has taught me anything, it’s that thinking can be detrimental to your mental health after a certain point. It won’t be as simple as that – I’ll have to recognize when I’m overthinking (especially when it’s related to feelings) and deliberately re-direct my attention to something actually productive. 

Whelp, recognition is the first step.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

